Subway dethrones Heat

Subway defeated the City of Milford Heat, 17-7, to win the Milford Recreation Department’s Industrial Tournament Division city title at Foote Field on Aug. 20.
Subway came into the post season as the top seed with an 11-3 record. City of Milford Heat came in as the third seed at 9-5.
Subway narrowly defeated City of Milford Heat in their regular season match ups 10-9 and 8-7. Defeating the two-time CMH defending champs three times in one season would be difficult task.
CMH drew first blood with a run in the top of the first, before a Chris Ball, Ray Franz, Tony Bonetti 6-4-3 double play set the defensive tone for Subway.

Subway managed to score runs in the home half of every inning, with all its players managing at least one hit.
Leading the attack for Subway were Mike Fox (3-for-4, two doubles, five RBIs), Paul Bamundo (4-for-4, four RBIs) and Bonetti (2-for-3, three RBIs). Pitcher Steve Fertman did not allow any walks in the game or in postseason play.
In the top of the third, City of Milford Heat was led by Art Calabrese, who delivered a monstrous three-run home run to left behind consecutive singles by Dan Talanied and Gil Hoyt.
That gave CMH a 4-3 lead, but Subway responded quickly with a seven-run outburst in its half of the frame to take the lead for good.
City of Milford Heat reached the finals by defeating sixth-seeded Costco, 12-2, and second-seeded MCW, 6-3.
Subway advanced to the final game by ousting eighth-seeded Total Mortgage, 11-7, and fourth-seeded Frito Lay, 15-5.
This year’s Subway roster included: Ed Degnan, Frank Buffone, Jeff Brockett, Paul Bamundo, Chris Ferguson, Jim Caterbone, Chris Ball, Brian Silvia, Ray Franz, Quentin Smith, John Sinnott, Pete Mrsich, Mike Fox, Steve Fertman, Tony Bonetti, Matt Patterson and Chris Kan.
Heat team members are: Mike Wydra, Art Calabrese, Joe Urban, Phil Ciolino, Doug Turner, Wesley Eisenhandler, Ryan Geary, Craig Kasher, Ryan LaGuardia, Stephen Mantie, Stephen Rabel, Todd Ricci, Scott Tummins, Tom Connors, Dan Talanied, Brian Rainey, Paul Piscitelli, Doug Edo, Brandon Edo, Justin Edo, Gill Hoyt, Ryan LaGuardia, Pat McGee and Frank Murphy.