St. Mary cagers to be honored Monday

The St. Mary School boys junior varsity basketball team will be recognized for winning the 2018 New England CYO Regional championship on Monday June 4, at 7:30 p.m. prior to the Board of Alderman meeting held at Milford City Hall.

Mayor Ben Blake will present them with a proclamation on behalf of the City of Milford and Representative Pam Staneski will present them with a proclamation from the Governor as well as a citation from her delegation.

This year's regional tournament was hosted by the Archdiocese of Hartford's Office of Education, Evangelization and Catechesis, as guided under the direction of the Archdiocesan Interscholastic Athletic Conference (AIAC).

Fifty-plus teams competed over the weekend in gymnasiums across Waterbury. With wins against schools from the Boston Diocese, Bridgeport Diocese and Manchester New Hampshire, the boys clinched the title at Kennedy High School.

Coached by Carl DeProfio and Eric Swanson, this is the first time in school's 57-year history that this title has been won. Team members are Chase Bryant, Christopher DeProfio, Griffin Fisher, Gauge Forget, John Gerrity, Dylan Gregory, Christopher Harry, Marco Joksovic, Daniel Kron, Max Lula, Derek Rainey, Michael Roney, Matt Savo, Peter Swanson, Tim Swanson, Will Swanson and A.J. Tkacs.

St. Mary also won the Greater New Haven Parochial Athletic League regular season title, the Greater New Haven Parochial Athletic League tournament, the Archdiocese of Hartford tournament, the St. Mary School Invitational tournament and the Our Lady of Fatima School tournament.