Wrestling: Daryl Arroyo selected for National Hall of Fame

Daryl Arroyo from Milford is one of four individuals from the state’s wrestling community to be selected for induction into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.

The Connecticut chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame will hold an induction dinner on Saturday, April 16, at Aria’s in Prospect to honor these men for their contribution to the sport of wrestling and our communities.

Arroyo was a state champion at Jonathan Law in 1980 and is the former head coach at Springfield College.

Arroyo, Springfield College Class of ’84, has a Ph.D. in Sport, Leisure, and Exercise Science, with a concentration in Educational Sport Psychology from the University of Connecticut in 1996, He also has his M.S. degree from California State University — Fullerton in 1988.

Arroyo earned his bachelor’s degree in health fitness and was a Springfield College wrestling captain in 1984. A three-time national qualifier, Arroyo placed sixth in the 118-pound weight class at the 1984 NCAA Division II Championships and earned All-America honors.

Prior to joining the SC staff, Arroyo was an assistant wrestling coach at Cal State –Fullerton and Central Connecticut State. He then went on to coach 21 years at Springfield College where he coached 27 NCAA All-Americans, 70 national qualifiers, 67 Scholar All-Americans, and 45 conference champions.

In his coaching career, Arroyo accumulated a 303-163-6 record, good for an outstanding winning percentage of .648.

Other past experiences include: assistant business manager at Central Connecticut State University, assistant wrestling coach at CCSU, and assistant wrestling coach and physical education instructor at Cal State — Fullerton.

The other inductees are Mark Cammisa, a youth wrestling coach and coordinator in Danbury and with USA Connecticut Wrestling; John Lawless, the former head coach and athletic director at Nonnewaug in Woodbury and Lieutenant Colonel Michael P. Morris, Jr., a former youth wrestling coach and coordinator in New Milford, Colchester, Hebron and Danbury and an assistant coach at Bacon Academy.

Arroyo, Cammisa and Lawless will receive a Lifetime Achievement award for coaches, officials, or contributors with at least 20 years of service. Morris is being recognized as an Outstanding American, a former wrestler who is highly successful in his/her profession.

All four men will be permanently recognized in the National Wrestling Hall of Fame (Stillwater, Oklahoma) with an embossed name plaque, and each receives a plaque and jacket to commemorate the very special occasion. These four will join 34 other inductees from Connecticut in the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.

Tickets for the banquet are on sale now for $85 each and are available online soon through cwhof.ticketleap.com or by contacting chapter treasurer Dr. Erich Doubek by phone (860-354-8583) or email at drdoubek@sbcglobal.net.

Learn more about the Connecticut chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame, the 2016 inductees and the 2016 induction dinner by going to its website at ctwrestling7.homestead.com/halloffame.html.