Lauralton Hall wins Class M swim crown

The Lauralton Hall swim team captured the Class M state championship title at Wesleyan University on Nov. 11.

Elizabeth Sargent was first in the 200 IM (2:08.60) and Kaitlyn Joy won the 50 freestyle (24.21).

Joy, Dakota Meyer, Sargent and Madyson Barnick took first in the 200 medley relay with a program-best time of 1:49.88.

“It was a good night,” Lauralton Hall coach Fran Pfeiffer said of his Crusaders, who had 605.5 points to 553 for runners-up Wethersfield. “We had many swimmers swim lifetime bests.

“Our victories are a residue of the kids you get in your program. These girls worked hard for this. I also had a lot of help from my assistants this season too.

““Moving to the SCC has been good and we’ve done alright. For the SCC to have such strong finishes in each event shows you the strength of the conference.

“We swam powerhouse SCC teams like Amity and Cheshire during the dual-meet season and that certainly helped prepare us for the postseason.”