Local essay contest winners named

The winners of the 2013-2014 Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) American History and the Christopher Columbus essay contests were recently honored at the Freelove Baldwin Stow DAR Chapter House in Milford.

The American history essay contest is open to 5th through 8th grades at all Milford schools.

This year's topic was “The Lives of Children During the American Revolution.”

First place winners were Katherine Paine, an eighth grader at St. Mary School; Spencer Mehan, a seventh grader at St. Gabriel School; Ian Conway, a fifth grader at St. Gabriel School, and Cole Williams, a sixth grader at St. Gabriel School.

This year the Freelove Baldwin Stow DAR Chapter also sponsored the Christopher Columbus essay contest, which is for 9th through 12th grade students.

The 2013-14 Christopher Columbus essay topic was “How Do Americans View Christopher Columbus and George Washington Today?”

This year's Christopher Columbus Essay Contest winners were all from Joseph A. Foran High School.

They are Kyle Charles Lockwood in first place; Haley Gluhanich in second place; Kali Borden in third place, with Kayanush Mistry receiving an honoroble mention.

This year's full list of American History (grades 5-8) essay contest winners is as follows:

American History Essay Contest Winners (Grades 5-8)

Grade 5

1st, Ian Conway, St. Gabriel School

2nd, Jacob Fleischer, St. Gabriel School

3rd, Celia Usher, St. Gabriel School

Honorable mention, Noland Richards, St. Gabriel School

Grade 6

1st, Cole Williams, St. Gabriel School

2nd, Griffin Congdon, St. Gabriel School

3rd, Erin Albright, St. Mary School

Honorable mention, Abigail A. Paine, St. Mary School

Grade 7

1st, Spencer Douglas, St. Gabriel School

2nd, Lexi Leparik, St. Gabriel School

3rd, Claire Lagarde, St. Mary School

Honorable mention, Gabriella Muoio, St. Gabriel School

Grade 8

1st, Katherine Paine, St. Mary School

2nd, Patrick Richardson, St. Mary School

3rd, Karlee Chapman, St. Gabriel School

Honorable mention, Maureen Morris, St. Gabriel School