Milford Police Department seeks Tier III accreditation

A team of assessors from the Police Officers Standards and Training Council will arrive on July 30 to examine the Milford Police Department policy and procedures as they relate to Tier III, General Management of the State Accreditation Standards.

Verification by the team that the Milford Police Department meets the Post Council’s state of the art accreditation standards is part of a voluntary process to gain accreditation—a highly prized recognition of law enforcement professional excellence, according to Police Spokesman Jeff Nielsen.

As part of the on-site assessment, agency employees and members of the community are invited to offer comments. Comments can be mailed to Harold T. LeMay, Post Accreditation Division at 285 Preston Ave. Meriden, Connecticut 06450, by telephone at 203-238-6026, by fax at 203-238-6643 or by email at Enter the name of the agency in the subject line of the email.

A copy of the state accreditation standards is available at the Milford Police Department, 430 Boston Post Road.

The assessment team is composed of law enforcement practitioners from the Connecticut law enforcement community. The assessors will review written materials, interview individuals, and visit offices and other places where compliance can be witnessed.

Once the Post Council accreditation assessors complete their review of the agency, they report back to the Post Council Accreditation committee who will recommend to the Post Council if the agency is to be accredited or re-accredited.

Accreditation is for three years, during which time the agency must submit annual reports attesting continued compliance with those standards under which they were initially accredited or re-accredited.

For more information regarding the Post Council accreditation program write to Harold T. LeMay, State Accreditation Program Manager, 285 Preston Ave. Meriden, Connecticut 06450, by telephone at 203-238-6026, by fax at 203-238-6643 or visit the Police Officer Standards and Training Council / Accreditation Division website at