33 graduate Monday from Milford Police Academy

The Milford Police Academy held its 2015 graduation ceremony Monday night at the Parsons Center, graduating 33 officers who will now head to work at various departments in the state.
“They went through extensive training, weeks and weeks of different types of practical, academic and hands-on training,” said Milford Police Department spokesman Jeff Nielsen.
The graduation ceremony took place inside the Veterans Memorial Auditorium. Family, friends and fellow officers packed the auditorium for speeches and presentations of awards, and to hear the new officers take their oaths of office.
Jon H. Chlebowski, who heads to the Fairfield Police Department, served as the spokesman for the graduates and talked a little about the academy. He said just getting into the academy requires passing tests, and once there, the recruits go through more tests and intense training.
“Once we’re at the academy, there are many more tests we go through such as physical, mental, a lot of academics; we learn a lot of Connecticut state law, self-defense, motor vehicle. The subjects we cover are very vast,” Chlebowski said.
Nick Kuhn, a Milford resident, was among the graduates. He heads to the Wallingford Police Department.
“Being an officer is just something I’ve always wanted to do since I was young,” Kuhn said. “I always wanted to protect and serve my community, and the academy is something I’ll never forget. The staff has a very unique way of getting their point across, but they do so with a purpose and most times those purposes are figured out quickly, real quickly, and then some take some time, but in the end you really see the care, dedication and hard work the staff puts into it.”
Kuhn said the instructors helped the cadets be as prepared as possible.
“They really all want us to succeed and go home every day,” Kuhn said.
Six of the graduates take posts in the Milford Police Department: Karen Banks, Kathleen Ann Bruno, Justin Eddy, Zachary A. Milslagle, James Preto, and Erik D. St. Germain.
The others will work at departments including Orange, Redding, Seymour, Stratford, and other towns.
Following is the list of graduates and their departments:
Berlin Police Department: Timothy Bradle
East Haven Police Department: Nicholas D. Adams, David Delgado and Molly R. Perry
Fairfield Police Department: Jon H. Chlebowski, Thomas K. Thresher and Chanse Everett Wilkie
Hamden Police Department: Andrew T. Lipford Jr. and Rachel L. Zinni
Madison Police Department: Justin Graziano
New Milford Police Department: Michelle A. Yiznitsky
Norwalk Police Department: Joseph Macaluso
Orange Police Department: Amable A. Colon, Ryan Miniaci, Christina Bertini Nicolia, and Denny Kyoung Peterson
Redding Police Department: Rachel A. Cardella
Seymour Police Department: Todd DeWald, Timothy J. Martin, Dierdre Murphy, and Samantha Salato
Stratford Police Department: Louis F. Arbelo III, Matthew A. Katalinas, Erika L. Ortiz, and Leonard J. Scinto
Torrington Police Department: Matthew R. Fifer
Wallingford Police Department: Nicholas Kuhn