WOODBRIDGE >> Selectman Beth Heller was nominated to run May 1 in the municipal election for first selectman on the Democratic platform.

Heller has been a member of the Board of Selectmen since 2008 and has been its deputy first selectman since 2009. She also was first selectman to complete the remainder of the late Ed Sheehy’s term, April 25-June 30, 2013.

Heller’s nomination was unanimously endorsed by Democrats at the party’s official nominating caucus, Jan. 12.

Heller was nominated by First Selectman Ellen Scalettar.

“Beth has almost a decade of experience on our Board of Selectmen, and having already served as our first selectman, she has seen first-hand the variety of matters that pass through that office. She stepped in at that critical time and led the town without missing a beat. In her more than 25 years living in Woodbridge, Beth has developed deep friendships and working relationships with neighbors across the political spectrum. Beth is the ideal person to lead our town at this time and into the future. If anyone can find and build on common ground, across the partisan divide, it is Beth Heller,” Scalettar said.

Heller accepted the nomination, saying “I am grateful for this vote of confidence and believe the best ideas are born from a diversity of input from all constituencies. Good government is at its best when it is more collaborative than partisan.”

“Stability like this in town government and ongoing excellence in our public schools will continue to make Woodbridge an attractive community in which to live and raise a family.”

Also on the ballot for the May municipal election are selectmen candidates Mica Cardozo, former state Sen. Joseph J. Crisco Jr., and Teri Schatz; Amity Regional Board of Education incumbents Patricia Cardozo and Robyn Berke; and Woodbridge Board of Education candidates incumbent Nancy Yao Maasbach, Maegan Genovese and John Vultee.

Also, for the Zoning Board of Appeals, incumbent Henry Nusbaum, Aldon Hynes (serving as alternate), and Jeffrey Atwood; for Zoning Board of Appeals alternate, Yonatan Zamir; and Ann Rubin for the Board of Assessment Appeals.

“This slate of candidates is a diverse team of thoughtful citizens and effective public servants, each of whom has years of experience contributing many hours of their time as volunteers to maintain and enhance our town’s traditions and distinct character,” Heller said.

“We’re all dedicated to our town and its reputation for excellence; I’m proud to have been nominated and honored to lead a team of candidates who offer so much experience working on behalf of our community.”