Bethany residents are invited to submit recommendations for the 2003 Citizen of the Year Award.

The award will be presented at the Annual Spaghetti Supper sponsored by the Bethany Democratic Town Committee, Saturday, March 22.

Started in 1984, the nonpartisan Citizen of the Year Award seeks to recognize Bethany residents who have made significant volunteer contributions to the life of the community. Past awardees include: Steve Pelosi, Bill Philie, Kim Chernecky, Kenneth Martin, Dorey Sarkady, Kay Lehtonen, Jeanne DelVecchio, Sheila Wade, the Bethany Ambulance Corps, and Mary Michelle Hirschoff. Also, Nancy Casella, George Quinn, Maryanne Lincoln, Betsy Bergen, Michael Epstein, Barrie Collins, Eric Stone, William and Harris Hoppe and Irma Nesson.

Nominations should be submitted to Derry Gorski, Chairperson of the Citizen of the Year Committee at 10 Old Fairwood Road Extension, Bethany 06524, or 393-2860, or Deadline for nominations is noon, Thursday, Feb. 20.