New Haven Museum director will speak at Milford Hall of Fame ceremony

Margaret Anne Tockarshewsky, executive director of the New Haven Museum, is slated to be the main speaker at Milford Hall of Fame induction ceremonies at 5 p.m. Sept. 18 at the Parson’s Government Center. The public is invited.

Her speech will focus on one of the five honorees to be inducted, Edward R. Lambert, Milford’s first historian and author of the 1838 landmark book, “History of the Colony of New Haven Before and After the Union with Connecticut.”

The New Haven Museum also focuses on the history of New Haven Colony and the original surrounding towns it comprised, which included Milford.

Tockarshewsky has been executive director of the New Haven Museum since February, 2012.

A professional with 25 years experience in all aspects of museums, she previously worked as consultant/interim director for Bayside Historical Society in Queens, N.Y. and for Queens Botanical Garden, first as director of marketing and communications and then as a consultant on earned revenue programs.

While at the Garden, she cultivated support from a broad and diverse constituency, developed multilingual programs and services for visitors, and fostered partnerships between the Garden and community groups. She also oversaw strategic planning, conducted institutional self-studies, directed visitor studies, and partnered with consultants on plans for institutional growth.

She holds a graduate degree in historic preservation from Columbia University and an undergraduate degree in communication arts from Cornell University. She is an alumna of the Museum Management Institute of the Getty Leadership Institute, and attended the Attingham Summer School of the British country house as the Samuel H. Kress Scholar in 2006.

The Milford Hall of Fame has been inducting honorees with special plaques along a corridor in the Parson’s Government Center since 2008.

Inductees must have lived in Milford and have made a significant contribution toward promoting the quality of life in the city or have earned special honor or distinction at the local, state, national or worldwide level.

A period of five years must have elapsed since the honoree’s death.

Nominations for future honorees may be made by calling Hall of Fame Committee Chairman Gerard Patton at 203-878-5120.