Milford Hall of Fame inducts five new honorees

The Milford Hall of Fame will host its 8th annual induction ceremony on Wednesday, Sept. 16, at the Parsons Complex where five new honorees will be named. The public is invited and refreshments will be served.

The induction will begin at 5 p.m. and will be held in the hallway near the interior Parsons gym entrance and motor vehicle office.

Ray Scholl, superintendent of historic Milford Cemetery, will be the guest speaker, with Mayor Ben Blake also making remarks.

This year, the five new Milford Hall of Fame inductees are: the Rev. Roger Newton, Charles Pond, Andrew Law, Clark Wilcox, Susan Woodruff Abbott and Morris Abbott. These five new will join the 36 previous inductees who have been honored in the annual ceremonies since 2008.

According to Milford Hall of Fame Committee Chairman and former Mayor Joel Baldwin, the five new inductees were chosen after a recommendation from the Research Committee chaired by Dotty Kozlowski. Biographies of each inductee were then written by committee members Joe Barnes and William McDonald and assembled into the 2015 program booklet edited by committee member Chris Carroll.

The 2015 induction booklets will be available at the event free of charge and includes illustrations of each inductee drawn by Kozlowski.

Also available for purchase for $10 each will be the 68-page Milford “375th Anniversary Memorial Booklet” containing biographies of all previous year’s inductees.