Greg Smith inducted into Connecticut Veterans Hall of Fame

Congresswoman Rosa L. DeLauro, CT-3, recently held a recognition ceremony honoring four veterans from Connecticut’s Third Congressional District who were selected as 2015 inductees into the Connecticut Veterans Hall of Fame.

The four inductees from DeLauro’s Congressional District are Dan Riccio, Jr. of North Haven, U.S. Army; John DeBisschop of Naugatuck, U.S. Navy; Michael Skelps of Middlefield, U.S. Navy, and Greg Smith of Milford, U.S. Navy.

“We set aside this time each year to recognize and give thanks to the dedicated individuals who help to maintain the freedom and liberties that are at the core of our national identity. They are the members of our military — Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, Coast Guard, and National Guard,” said DeLauro.

“Following their discharge from the service, Dan, John, Mike, and Greg further demonstrated their commitment to their communities through their volunteer activities and activism,” DeLauro continued. “Through their efforts they have enriched and improved the quality of life for others and I wanted to take a moment to extend my deepest thanks and appreciation to these four veterans who not only served our nation with distinction through their military service, but who continue to make a difference in their communities today.”

The Connecticut Veterans Hall of Fame was established to increase the awareness of the lifetime contributions of veterans after completion of honorable military service. The Connecticut Veterans Hall of Fame is not a military hall of fame. Those selected for the honor of induction are veterans who honorably served their country through military service and who continue to serve and inspire their fellow Nutmeggers with their deeds and accomplishments throughout their lifetime.

The official induction ceremony will be held on Monday, November 30th at the legislative office Building in Hartford.

Smith, in addition to being a leader in several veterans organizations, has served as a Milford alderman and Board of Aldermen chairman.