Foran and Law seniors receive Friends of Library scholarships

Seven Milford students received Friends of the Milford Library awards, according to Margaret Bolger, chair of The Friends of Milford Library Awards Committee.

Fiona Noyes and Kelly Scianna, seniors at Joseph A. Foran and Jonathan Law high schools respectively, will each receive $500 scholarships.

The other students will receive 2016 Friends Book Award winners. They are members of the junior class at each of the five high schools in Milford.

Julia Polizzo, The Academy; Annika Benedetti, Foran; Veronica Piscitelli, Lauralton Hall; Kavitha Mohanarajan, Jonathan Law, and Lupita Barios, Platt Tech.

Each Book Award winner will be presented with Only in Milford by local author DeForest Smith.  In addition, each will select another book to be given to her school library, with a bookplate identifying the winner.

“The criteria for the scholarships and the book awards were established by the Friends' Award Committee working with representatives from the high schools,” Bolger said. “Winners were selected for their outstanding personal characters, the positive impact they have made on their school and community and their demonstrated strong, and consistent, love of reading. All winners were chosen by the faculty at each school.”

An award ceremony honoring the students will be held at the Milford Public Library in April. Dr. Elizabeth Feser, Superintendent of Schools, Mayor Ben Blake and Milford author DeForest Smith will attend.