Candidates chosen for spring elections

In party caucuses last week, Democratic and Republican town committees in Bethany and Woodbridge chose their slates for the May 2 local biennial elections.

The two towns are among the few in Connecticut having a springtime vote for municipal candidates.

In Woodbridge, incumbent Republican First Selectwoman Amey Marrella will be challenged by Democrat Laurence Grotheer for the top seat. Marrella is seeking a third term. Grotheer currently handles the Democratic Town Committee public relations and is employed by the state Senate Democrats.

Named as Board of Selectmen candidates are Edward Maum Sheehy, Dr. James Sabshin, Sandra Stein (Democrat). Christopher Dickerson, Judith Schwartz and Christopher Sorensen (Republican).


Other nominees are:

Board of Education: Sheila McCreven, Susan Kelley and Carolyn Wolff (Democrat). David Barkin, Debra Pines abd Clotilde Dudley Smith (Republican).

Amity Board of Education: Rita Gedansky and Susan Jacobs (Democrat). William Fox (Republican).

Zoning Board of Appeals: Robyn Berke (Democrat) Philip DeGennaro, Sandra Elias, Michael Soufrine (Republican).

Board of Assessment Appeals: Mark Kohler, Alan Rice, Lisa Stanger (Democrat). Gregrory Coyne (Republican).

Zoning Board of Appeals Alternate:And Henry Nusbaum (Democrat)

In Bethany, incumbent Democratic First Selectman Derrylyn Gorski will be challenged by Republican Newton "Skip" Borgerson for the top post. Gorski, who was elected in 2003, is the first woman and the second Democrat to lead the town since it was incorporated in 1832. Borgerson has been town treasurer since 2002. He formerly was chairman of the town Planning and Zoning Commission for 14 years.

Named as Board of Selectmen running mates for Gorski and Borgerson are, respectively, Steven Thornquist and Walter Briggs. Briggs, who chairs the GOP town committee, is running for reelection to the board. Thornquist has served as town meeting moderator.

In announcing the Democratic slate, Committee Co-Chair Carol Goldberg said she is "very excited" about the party's candidates because, "This is a great team led by Derry Gorski. Calling the Republicans' 2005 ticket "a great slate," Briggs said, "We're very happy with it."

The other nominees are:

Amity Regional Board of Education: Sheila Wade (Democrat); Malcolm Brinton (Republican).

Board of Education: Maura Harrigan and Laura Adair (Democrats); Salvatore Amadeo and Agatha King (Republicans).

Treasurer: Kathryn Schultz (Democrat); Steven Massey (Republican).

Tax Collector: Sarah Tabaka Elmore (Democrat); Sandra McSherry (Republican).

Board of Finance: Stephen Squinto, Wesley Spear, Eric Gallant and Sally Huyser (Democrats); Robert Brinton, Jr. and Randall Raddatz (Republicans).

Planning and Zoning Commission: Melissa Spear, Patricia Winer and Mary Shurtleff

(Democrats); David Tressel, John E. Ford IV and Lisa Amadeo (Republicans).

PZC Alternate: George King, Jr. (Republican).

Board of Assessment: Robert Rogers (Democrat); Leon Barnes and Gary Ross (Republicans).

Zoning Board of Appeals: Arnold Sabatelli and David Forman (Democrats); Alan Holbrook and Alan Green (Republicans)

ZBA Alternates: James Foley and Lester Sarkady (Democrats); David Cadelina and Rudolph Beckert (Republicans).

Woodbridge town committee chairmen were not available for comment at press time.