Lantern-lit Spirits of Milford Ghost Walks through downtown Milford weave tales of the macabre with those of local history and take place on weekends through early November.

Starting at the Hotchkiss Bridge near Lisman Landing on Helwig Street, the walks follow a roughly 1.15-mile loop through downtown Milford, including stops at some of the city's oldest homes and Milford Cemetery. Why Connecticut is said to be one of the U.S.'s most haunted states, and how Milford's history ties into its ghostly legends, are among the stories told. Participants also get the chance to try out paranormal investigation tools like EMF detectors and dowsing rods.

Walks will take place: 7 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 10; 7 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 11; 7 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 17; 9:30 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 17; 7 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 18; 7 p.m. Friday, Oct. 23; 9:30 p.m. Friday, Oct. 23; 7 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 24; 9:30 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 24; 7 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 25; 7 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 31; 9:30 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 31; 7 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 1; 7 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 7; 7 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 8.

Leading the walks is Milford-based writer and storyteller Cindy Wolfe Boynton, author of Connecticut Witch Trials: The First Panic in the New World.

Walks last approximately 90 minutes and are appropriate for all ages. Tickets are $15 and must be purchased online, in advance, as space is strictly limited. Children 4 and under are free. For more information or to purchase tickets, visit www.spiritsofmilford.com.

Private walks for groups of 15-25, at a discounted rate, are also available on select dates. Email milfordspirits@gmail. com for details.